Old and Manual Focus Lenses

The blog of old and manual focus lenses lovers

Example: Programming an EMF lens adapter ring

In the previous post I explained how to program an EMF lens adapter ring. The process is perhaps a bit complicated, so I’m going to explain how to program a concrete lens, a SMC Takumar 50mm f1.4 with micro-adjustment at 25.

First of all I prepare the camera. Remember: Exposure correction at +1/3 AV, manual mode and 1/60s of shutter speed.

Once prepared the camera, I open the programming mode, I set the aperture at f/64 and press the shutter button, now I set the aperture at f/57 and press the shutter button and I again set the aperture at f/64 and press the shutter button.

I enter to the maximum aperture menu. I set the aperture at f/2.0 and press the shutter button. In this case the maximum aperture is f/1.4 so I set the aperture at f/1.4 and press the shutter button.
Now I have to store the information, so I set the aperture at f/57 and press the shutter button, now I set the aperture at f/64 and press the shutter button and I again set the aperture at f/57 and press the shutter button.

The maximum aperture is saved on the chip. The turn is for the focal length.
As before, I open the programming mode, aperture at f/64 and press the shutter, aperture at f/57 and press the shutter and aperture at f/64 and press the shutter again.

Now I have to enter to the focal length menu, so I set the aperture at f/2.2 and press the shutter button. The focal length that I want is 50mm, so the number is 00050. I set f/2.0 and press shutter button three times, then set the aperture at f/3.5 and press the shutter again and finally I set the aperture at f/2.0 and press the shutter button.

To store the information I close the program, f/57 and press the button, f/64 and press the button and f/57 and press the button. The focal length is programed.

I’m in the last part. The turn is for the micro-adjustment. I open the program as you know and I set the aperture at f/2.5 and I press the shutter button.

I have to introduce the number 25, so I set the aperture at f/2.5 and I press the shutter button and then I set the aperture at f/3.5 and press the shutter button again.

Now I close the program as you know and the chip is finally programed. As you have seen, is a task a bit repetitive but simple and once programmed information is stored on the chip forever.

And here the example:

If you look the exif information you found: 50mm – f1.4 – 1/60s – ISO 400.

And this other photo:

The exif information is: 50mm – f2 – 1/60s – ISO 800.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2012 by in English, Lenses and tagged , , , , .
